Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
Preview
3

Fried Fish Tacos (!!!)

fried fish > grilled fish
3

This newsletter might have to become dedicated to seafood at some stage — I love it so much. Fresh, grilled, fried…chowders, dips, stews.

Seafood makes me happy…and fried seafood makes me joyous.

You can find fish tacos on the menu at seafood restaurants all over, but they originated in Baja California, Mexico. Fried fish is best, but you can always get them grilled, I guess.

Today, we’re frying because dang, I love me some fried fish.

This recipe is simple, but there are some necessary steps (or tips) to take in order to ensure you make the best fucking fish tacos for yourself and your loved ones.

The first is this: get some good fish. I feel like that is obvious, but I still had to say it. Flaky white fish is best (I used cod).

The second thing? Get some good tortillas. I prefer flour tortillas for my fish tacos, but you can get corn if that’s what you prefer. I got some duck fat tortillas and HOLY CRAP. Highly recommend getting your hands on some if you can.

FARIDEH is the best is a reader-supported publication. To receive new posts and support my work, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber.

And lastly, definitely refrigerate your wet batter for at least 30 minutes before using it. Since we’re using beer in the batter (SICILY), refrigerating it for a bit allows the batter to kind of ferment a bit and settle. If your batter feels too thick, add a touch more sparkling water after it has rested and before you fry.

Fried fish tacos will usually come with all sorts of fun salsas, but I was lazy and didn’t make any. I added jalapeño to my cabbage slaw for some mild heat, but you should totally add a pico de gallo or something spicy to this.

And that’s it!

(Well, not entirely, there are definitely more tips and randomness in the video, so check that out.)

ty ily, byeeeeeee xoxo

FRIED FISH TACOS RECIPE!

Listen to this episode with a 7-day free trial

Subscribe to FARIDEH is the best to listen to this post and get 7 days of free access to the full post archives.