Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
Preview

Grilled! Shrimp! Cocktail!!

because it's summer and that means we're grilling.

idk if you know this, but I have a pretty great roof deck. And I don’t even have to share it with any neighbors!

I love sitting out there in the mornings with my cup of coffee, watching the little sparrows that hang in my makeshift birdbath flit around and chirp. It may be right by the train and off a busy street, but I find it very peaceful and relaxing.

I haven’t been hosting nearly enough hangs out there and I am making it my mission to do so more this summer (hey all you friends reading this, let’s party).

That being said, I recently made grilled shrimp cocktail and didn’t share it with a single person.

I absolutely loooooove shrimp cocktail. I even like cocktail sauce, despite the fact that it is ketchup-based (and you know my thoughts and feels on ketchup).

I love shrimp cocktail at the holidays. It feels very festive to bring to a gathering (or serve at one). I enjoy a shrimp cocktail with my martini, of course. It is definitely an obligatory appetizer for me at a steakhouse. See this video for how I make shrimp cocktail (and don’t forget to subscribe to my YouTube channel).

But we’re not making your average shrimp cocktail today, folks. Nope, not at all.

Today we’re grilling our shrimp and serving it with a non-ketchup sauce.

Get some nice big shrimp and toss them with a simple spice blend of cardamom, cumin, and cayenne, plus salt and sugar. I know, sugar, weird for this right?

Wrong.

The sugar amplifies the sweetness of the shrimp and balances the other spices in the rub. Plus, it makes for deeper caramelization when you grill these guys. So come on, give it a go, would ya?

The best part of this recipe, however, is the sauce.

THIS SAUCE MIGHT BE THE BEST THING I MAKE.

It’s basically the same as the dressing I made for my grilled corn and avocado chopped salad. Avocado, sour cream, peppers, and cilantro…this sauce is drinkable. Yes, use it as a salad dressing. Yes, dip your grilled shrimp in it. Yes, use it as a dip for your next crudité platter.

Just…yes.

But don’t take my word for it. MAKE IT YOURSELF. Make it all summer long. Serve it with any grilled protein! But with grilled shrimp, as a little app, it’s pretty f-ing great. You can even cook the shrimp ahead of time and serve them cold, like you would normal shrimp cocktail.

Now save this recipe and go make it and lmk what you think.

ty love you bye.

xoxo

Grilled Shrimp Cocktail Recipe

Listen to this episode with a 7-day free trial

Subscribe to FARIDEH is the best to listen to this post and get 7 days of free access to the full post archives.